2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, danno858, benkeys, brennbaer, DaCapoDiTuttiCapi, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, 11 invisible), 1,854 guests, and 328 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Jules85 Offline OP
OP Offline
I've been playing for over 10 years, mostly modern composers and popular arrangements, and would really like to start working on some classical repertoire. Could you suggest some beautiful Bach and Mozart to start off with?
I would prefer to start with something not too technically difficult... grade 8 and under. My goal is not to spend weeks or months on one piece right now, but to add a nice variety of easily mastered classics to my repertoire.

thanks!!

500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
Kar,
I would recommend Chopin and the A-minor Waltz. Either one is fairly easy to learn and play. Most of the Chopin waltz's are base/chord in the left hand and melody in the right so they are easy to pick up when you are used to popular music so it makes for an easy transition. Of the two, the Opus Post. is the easier. As with all Chopin however, easy to learn - difficult to master. If pushed to recommending something between Bach and Mozart I would recommend the Mozart Turkish Rondo as fairly easy - at least in parts. I hope this helps.
Woody

[Linked Image]
I've always found the last movement of Mozart's Piano Concerto 10 to be a really nice piece. But I'm not entirely sure how difficult it is, and you need two piano players for it.

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content
Originally Posted by Kar