2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
40 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,179 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
S
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
S
I would like to start playing some Chopin etudes fairly soon, and I was wondering which were considered the least technically demanding, as I am only an early-intermediate level student.

Thank you,
SD

Working On:

BACH: Invention No. 13 in a min.
GRIEG: Notturno Op. 54 No. 4
VILLA-LOBOS: O Polichinelo

Next Up:

BACH: Keyboard Concerto in f minor
8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
There's been tons of topics about the Chopin etudes--try the search function. smile

Close only counts in horseshoes, hand grenades, and nuclear weapons.
C
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
C
hmm ... early intermediate ... Chopin etudes ... does not compute smile

Seriously, there's quite a lot of Chopin that you could play at your level. Waltzes, mazurkas, preludes, nocturnes. I'd leave the etudes for a while. You're asking for frustration, discouragement and maybe even injury. Not that I discount the motivating value of that special piece you really want to learn, but there are special pieces at every level, IMO. smile

Du holde Kunst...
S
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
S
Horowitzian - Sorry. I'll do that.

currawong - Thanks!! I'll look into that instead!

Working On:

BACH: Invention No. 13 in a min.
GRIEG: Notturno Op. 54 No. 4
VILLA-LOBOS: O Polichinelo

Next Up:

BACH: Keyboard Concerto in f minor