2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (Carey, AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, bcalvanese, booms, 6 invisible), 1,871 guests, and 262 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
Barb860 Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
B
Hello,
I have been teaching for many years and have never played at my students' recitals (the ones I host for them). My teachers never performed at mine when I was a student, either. I am hearing that these days it's the thing to do, for us to play at our students' recitals. Do you do this?
A couple of parents are bugging me to "play something" at their kids' recitals. Is this appropriate?
Thanks everyone!

Piano Teacher
E
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
E
nope, I will not.

I will do a duet occasionally, but I do not play solos at them.

I will play for the kids at their lessons if they want, but I don't feel it's appropriate to play at my student's recitals. That's their day to shine.

JMHO

It is better to be kind than to be right.

Professional private piano teacher since 1994.
B
Barb860 Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
B