2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, 6 invisible), 1,935 guests, and 310 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Z
OP Offline
Z
I've been playing piano seriously (4+ hours/day) for 2 months; I'm currently 20. I've played for a total of two years; I can play something along the lines of the K545 musically without too much difficulty. I have been practicing technique for a very short amount of time, however, so I have many questions. My current shortish-term goal is to reach a grade 10 RCM level. I currently have a teacher who's been an immense help, alas; I am an inexhaustible well of questions!

1. Slow or fast practice for technique? I find it difficult to transition from one to the other. The momentum of the hands, and physiological characteristics changes from fast to slow practice, so I might as well just learn it fast from the start. On the other hand, accuracy is a problem if I do that. So, how do I get my technique up to speed? How can I maintain a high degree of accuracy?

2. Any tips on the transition from HS to HT?

3. I've been trying arpeggios and broken triads. I don't know what to do with my hands. Should I play 'in groups of 3', keeping the same arm movements as I do in solid triads? Should I keep my wrist level/high, while using the weight of my arm to depress the keys with relatively little finger movements, or should I focus on the fingers?