2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
71 members (20/20 Vision, booms, Cominut, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, 12 invisible), 1,994 guests, and 300 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
J
OP Offline
J
Hello,

I am just learning to play piano. I unfortunately waited late in life but I am enjoying it thus far. My question is guidance with the speed of the metronome with what the tempo o f the music calls for on the sheet music. Example, a piece of music calls for a slow tempo then what would be the metronome range for what is considered slow? Also, if the music sheet calls for brisk or fast what should the range on the metronome clicks for this speed. I just need some type of range of metronome clicks for each tempo speed.

Thanks for any advice.

John

Last edited by John_Cmajor; 03/05/09 08:54 PM.
S
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
S
John,

Older-style wind-up metronomes typically had a scale that assigned labels like Largo to the slowest speed (usually 40 beats per minute) and Prestissimo to the fastest (around 200 bpm, I think).

But it's arbitrary and meaningless without reference to which note value receives the beat and thus is represented by one click.

For example, a very fast piece in 4/4 time marked Presto might be 160 bpm, with each quarter note receiving one beat (i.e., one click).

But one could also choose to set the metronome at 80 bpm for only two clicks per measure, with each click/beat then representing the value of a half note.