2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (Carey, AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, bcalvanese, booms, 6 invisible), 1,871 guests, and 262 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
Deji Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hi,

I'm a guitarist who is hopefully headed to music school in autumn, where I will have to learn how to play the piano as a second instrument. Currently I have a cheap Casio synth at home with unweighted 61 keys (which is an annoyance, because it's too short for some pieces even with transposition up/down). Add to that the fact that I've always wanted to be able to play the piano at a decent level, I decided to buy my first (digital) piano.

The piano is probably going to be exclusively used for home practice and maybe to add piano/synth sounds to my recorded music. I may want to use it for gigging down the road, but as my playing is pretty poor, probably not in the next few years.

Looking around and reading reviews, I seem to have found a pretty good specimen of what I need: the Roland FP-4

I like the idea of Session Partner, giving me basslines and drums for accompaniment, plus unlike some other models, it also features a sequencer, which I can use to lay down backgrounds for my guitar playing.

Polyphony seems good, has different sound samples, etc.

It lacks a pitch bend/mod wheel, but I'm unsure of what it's good for anyway. As a guitarist I understand (and like!) the concept of bending notes in a melody, but bending whole chords? With your third arm? smile