2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
65 members (Bett, anotherscott, bwv872, Bill SF Bay, AndrewJCW, Abdol, Beowulf, 14 invisible), 582 guests, and 560 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
#1155562 03/01/09 10:34 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
T
TJF Offline OP
Junior Member
OP Offline
Junior Member
T
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Are there any other reading suggestions for those of us that enjoyed "Grand Obsession"? I know "The Piano Shop On The Left Bank" is another good book along these lines but I'm looking for other recommendations.

Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
TJF #1155567 03/01/09 10:42 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,577
N
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
N
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,577
Have you read "Piano Girl"? I really enjoyed that, though it's more about playing than about pianos. The same can be said about Noah Adams' "Piano Lessons," which I also liked. Actually, I've yet to read a piano book I haven't liked, including The Piano Book. Too bad there aren't more of them!

Nancy



Estonia 168
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
NancyM333 #1155572 03/01/09 10:52 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
T
TJF Offline OP
Junior Member
OP Offline
Junior Member
T
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks for the suggestions. I'm an avid reader but becoming frustrated by the lack of new music related books.

Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
NancyM333 #1155575 03/01/09 10:57 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
T
TJF Offline OP
Junior Member
OP Offline
Junior Member
T
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Actually looking up the Noah Adams recommendation on Amazon brought up so other interesting recommendations if anyone else is interested.

Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
TJF #1155578 03/01/09 11:01 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,044
pno Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,044
I recommend Arthur Reblitz's "Piano Servicing, Tuning, and Rebuilding: For The Professional, The Student, And The Hobbyist" to go with your "Grand Obsession" book.


♫♫♫ ♫♫♫
YAMAHA C2M PE
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
pno #1155625 03/02/09 12:18 AM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 616
500 Post Club Member
Offline
500 Post Club Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 616
"Romance on 3 Legs" is a good read. So are the various books on piano history, the House of Steinway, etc.


-Zorba
"The Veiled Male"
http://www.doubleveil.net
1918 Hobart M. Cable "H"
"No-one would knowingly provide Franz Liszt with a mediocre piano." -E. M. Good
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
TJF #1155741 03/02/09 08:30 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 28,921
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 28,921
Originally Posted by TJF
Thanks for the suggestions. I'm an avid reader but becoming frustrated by the lack of new music related books.


???

If you go to Barnes & Noble or Amazon you'l find 100's of books about pianos, pianists, piano literature etc. many of them of recent publication. I have over 200 myself.

Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
pianoloverus #1155855 03/02/09 12:04 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 758
M
500 Post Club Member
Offline
500 Post Club Member
M
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 758
In the fiction category, I'd recommend "Body and Soul" by Frank Conroy.

Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
moscheles001 #1156441 03/03/09 11:00 AM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 40
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 40
Another fun read:

Note by Note: A Celebration of the Piano Lesson by Tricia Tunstall


Yamaha WX3 Upright
Yamaha YPG 625 keyboard
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
Zormpas #1156448 03/03/09 11:17 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 131
D
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
D
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 131
Originally Posted by Zormpas
"Romance on 3 Legs" is a good read.


Couldn't agree more, nice book nice read. I think the author Katie Hafner is going to write some detective story of a missing volin. That might be interesting as well.

Last edited by Davinci; 03/03/09 11:19 AM.
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
Davinci #1156471 03/03/09 12:03 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 231
F
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
F
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 231
I also like "Romance on 3 Legs". Other music-related books I enjoyed are "Musicophelia" by Oliver Sacks, and "This is Your Brain on Music".

Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
Davinci #1197381 05/11/09 01:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
T
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
T
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
If you liked Grand Obsession, then you'll love the book "A Romance on Three Legs" by Katie Hafner. This book tells you about Glenn Gould's obsession for the perfect piano. Take a look at the reviews for this book on Amazon and you will want to read it.
Tom


Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
moscheles001 #1197700 05/11/09 10:55 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,758
A
AJF Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
A
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,758
Originally Posted by moscheles001
In the fiction category, I'd recommend "Body and Soul" by Frank Conroy.


Me too. I love this book smile


Pianist, Composer
Disclaimer: Shigeru Kawai Artist
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
AJF #1197720 05/11/09 11:22 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1,645
D
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
D
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1,645
Don't forget "The Piano Tuner," by Daniel Mason. Some really great scenes, descriptions of a tuner/tech at work, an exotic jungle setting, and an eccentric military officer.


Promote Harmony in the Universe...Tune your piano!

Dave Stahl, RPT
Piano Technician's Guild
San Jose, CA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAniw3m7L2I
http://dstahlpiano.net
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
TJF #1197795 05/12/09 04:33 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 134
N
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
N
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 134
Two of my favorites:

Piano - by James Barron. Written by a New York Times staff reporter, this book follows the construction of a NY Steinway D, and includes a bit of interesting history on the Steinway family and company.

Piano Notes - by Charles Rosen. More about being a pianist than about pianos per se, but a fascinating read and one that I suspect is reasonably accessible to pianists of all levels.

Cheers


Nicholas B.

Steinway B (1912 rebuilt)
Kawai RX-2 (2008)
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
tconagha #1197813 05/12/09 06:32 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 724
G
500 Post Club Member
Offline
500 Post Club Member
G
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 724
Originally Posted by tconagha
If you liked Grand Obsession, then you'll love the book "A Romance on Three Legs" by Katie Hafner. This book tells you about Glenn Gould's obsession for the perfect piano. Take a look at the reviews for this book on Amazon and you will want to read it.
Tom



I have an admission, except for his goldberg variations, I don't like Glenn Gould's interpretations that much. (OK flame me!) Even my wife thinks I am wrong (go figure).

His Brahms just don't sound that well considered to me.

OK I am out of the closet now, I feel better.

:-)


Regards,

Grotriman
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
Davinci #1197865 05/12/09 09:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 478
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 478
I really liked "My Life with the Great Pianists" by Franz Mohr, the celebrated and "semi"-retired chief concert tuner/technician from Steinway. It is a captivating account of his professional and personal life, as well as the countless hours he spent traveling and attending to the pianos (and sometimes hilarious idiosyncracies) of Horowitz, Gould, Cliburn, Rubinstein, etc. I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Mohr in a recent trip to Minneapolis, and he was an absolutely delightful, engaging and charming gentleman.

Last edited by Deerwood Dad; 05/12/09 09:16 AM.

Mason & Hamlin A (2006); Yamaha P140
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
Deerwood Dad #1198063 05/12/09 04:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 113
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 113
Arthur Loesser's "Men, Women, and Pianos" is a great read. It's an exhaustive social history of the piano, and he has a wonderful dry sense of humor sometimes. Here is one of my favorite quotes, about the phenomenon of multiple-piano concerts that were in vogue for a while:

"Two pianos, it was generally realized by connoisseurs, could in many ways make more music than a single one; three, however, were a superfluity, if not a nuisance. Nevertheless, a flock of rich simpletons might readily be impressed by a lot of apparatus and pay good money to be in a room with it. After all, to people who live for money, quantity is quality."

Last edited by Tmoose; 05/12/09 04:27 PM.

1906 Steinway B (#124401)
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
Tmoose #1198169 05/12/09 08:08 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,973
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,973
A brand new, fairly technical piano book is by André Oorebeek and is called "The Voice of the Piano". While essentially a voicing manual for technicians, players can benefit from the book as well. It will give them insights into tone regulation and give them the vocabulary and background information to converse more effectively with their tuner/technician about getting the tone they want from their instrument.

The book comes with a 45 minute instructional and very informative DVD

www.TheVoiceOfThePiano.com


JG
Re: If you liked Grand Obsession you'll like...
Supply #1198172 05/12/09 08:32 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 724
G
500 Post Club Member
Offline
500 Post Club Member
G
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 724
WHAT!?! Voice of the piano... IT COSTS $1 PER PAGE!!!

Holy cow I don't think I've ever purchased a book that expensive.

I'll wait 10 years and buy it in the used book store.


Regards,

Grotriman
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Ken Knapp, Piano World 

Link Copied to Clipboard
What's Hot!!
News from the Piano World
Our January 2021 Free Newsletter for piano lovers is here now...
---------------------
NEW! Sell Your Piano on our world famous Piano Forums!
---------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
PianoDisc

PianoDisc
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Mason & Hamlin Pianos
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Max Richter: Tiny Desk (Home)
by SeaDrive - 01/23/21 08:24 PM
Advice on buying my first piano
by moodorf - 01/23/21 07:59 PM
Yamaha Model Differences
by RPHPlayer - 01/23/21 07:24 PM
Cannot decide on a beginner keyboard
by sunnyrose98 - 01/23/21 07:10 PM
Bach Busoni Goldberg Variations
by Keith D Kerman - 01/23/21 04:15 PM
Download Sheet Music
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Forum Statistics
Forums42
Topics204,492
Posts3,050,636
Members100,187
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers


Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads



 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


© copyright 1997 - 2021 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4