2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
61 members (Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 11 invisible), 1,816 guests, and 265 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Spotnik Offline OP
OP Offline
Hello,

I'm relatively new to the forum--I've actually been lurking for about a month and this is only my second post. I recently started playing again, eighteen years after having taken a piano course in college. I've played a number of other instruments over the years, but piano has always been one of those 'bucket list' things--I'm 46, and if I don't do it now, I'll be kicking myself when I lose the ability to do anything.

My teacher (a faculty member where I work) assed my skill level at about early-intermediate level, so I've been assigned--a steady diet of Hanon, along with Clementi's Sonatina Op 36 no.1 (which my wife calls "The Infamous"--having played it herself growing up) and Burgmuller's "La Candeur." So far so good, though I've clearly lost some of the accuracy I once had--I used to be able to play Rameau's Menuet en Rondeau with no problems, and it's taken me a month to get any of that back!