2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AlkansBookcase, AndyOnThePiano2, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, 11 invisible), 2,109 guests, and 312 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1142675 02/27/05 07:39 PM
T
thomosh Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Hi everyone, I'm a beginning piano student and what concerns me is that I don't want to be someone that cannot play without sheet music. How does a person go about learning to improvise? What are the required skill sets..? I think jazz is such an esoteric skill that I wonder if it's an inate ability? At some point you have to free yourself do you not? You have to let the pulse and rhythm within take over. I'm at a point after nearly a year of study where I want to branch out of classical and head toward more contemporary type genres. Can anyone help me get started in the right direction?

Thanks

#1142676 02/28/05 01:01 AM
G
G
Sometimes just jamming in one key with one scale, for example C lydian, is helpful. That way you can concentrate on making phrases and such. Also try singing a line and then repeating it on the piano. That'll help you a lot, too. Oh, and listen to a whole lot of CDs with improvisation on them.

Greg Schlaepfer
Orange Tree Samples
http://www.orangetreesamples.com
#1142677 02/28/05 02:09 AM
J
J