2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, 6 invisible), 1,913 guests, and 310 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1134723 11/25/06 05:50 AM
P
putie Offline OP
OP Offline
P
hi guys.. actually i just got an offer to play in a bar in Japan. (i'm studying here). But i don't have any experiences playing in bar.I'm not so good in jazz or improvisation. I really want to do it. So, what songs are usually played there? pop? classic or jazz?.any recommendations?

thanks laugh

#1134724 11/25/06 08:29 AM
V
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
V
Originally posted by putie:
hi guys.. actually i just got an offer to play in a bar in Japan. (i'm studying here). But i don't have any experiences playing in bar.I'm not so good in jazz or improvisation. I really want to do it. So, what songs are usually played there? pop? classic or jazz?.any recommendations?

thanks laugh
Don't guess. Either stop in for an hour or so of listening, making note of the crowd's reactions to the tunes played, or ask someone to go in and tape a set or two for you if it's not possible for you to pre-screen the room yourself. If that's not possible, ask the club owner. If he's oblivious, ask the bartenders or even ask to be put in contact with the pianist or one of the pianists working there.

#1134725 11/26/06 01:22 PM
P
putie Offline OP
OP Offline
P
kyaa thanks! laugh

#1134726 11/27/06 08:48 AM
B
B