2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, Dalem01, 10 invisible), 1,869 guests, and 291 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
chprout Offline OP
OP Offline
C
HI again. I am a beginner and know how to read the treble clef, as I already play a couple of different instruments. But boy that Bass clef is a monster at 40 years old.

Some methods out there say they teach you to read a chord chart, so you can play from a fakebook or something. I'd love to do this. But there's also an advantage to reading the bass cleff as well.

What do you guys do? Any of you play only from a chord chart? If so, how did you learn all those variations of the chord, such as "Fmaj7#11" and so forth? I can piece together a three note chord, but once I get past adding on a 7th, I get confused which notes it is. Anyone found any great teach yourself methods on how to play with chords and their variations?

2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Depending on your goals, I'd recommend being able to do both. If you can piece together a triad or a 7th chord, you should be able to figure out the rest assuming you know what the constructs are (aug, dim, min, etc.) and how they're noted. It might just take a while. Or you can get a chord chart/book.