2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (AlkansBookcase, cmoody31, dh371, Fried Chicken, 20/20 Vision, admodios, clothearednincompo, crab89, 6 invisible), 1,235 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
mr_bubb Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I have a question about how long it should take to learn a new piece, i.e. the relationship between one's "level" and making progress with a piece.

While I'm planning and have even scheduled lessons with a teacher, for the next month or so I'm just learning on my own. As a teenager I had about two years of lessons.

Since taking up the piano again, I've worked on Bach minuets and a couple of little preludes. But even these little pieces can take me about two to three weeks each to learn (i.e. play at tempo, accurately, with expression). Is this too long? When looking for new things to play, can you determine from the first 8 bars if it's too hard?

Jim

4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
Jim,

First, the disclaimer. I am an early 4th year adult piano student, not a teacher. I am, however, a kibbitzer extraordinaire, and seldom short on advice when asked. That having been said....

I think it is difficult to tell from looking if a piece is hard, unless you can see a lot of 4 note chords, 10ths, or difficult keys. I have had some that looked easy be quite difficult and some that looked hard be quite easy. Case in point being an arrangement of Claire De Lune. Looked easy enough, but wasn't easy at all to get right.