2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (APianistHasNoName, Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 10 invisible), 1,853 guests, and 274 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
R
RoyR Offline OP
OP Offline
R
All right...I've been practicing on my own now for about 4 months. I'm trying to get a nice, flowing, sound using right hand melody and left hand chords. I can do this sometimes and sometimes I am disappointed with my progress. Last night I made a mess out of several songs I had drilled and drilled myself on. Dang!

So, I am gradually coming around to the notion that maybe a lesson or several will be of help to me. I don't think I can afford a weekly lesson, and perhaps at my age of 58, some simple coaching every other week or once a month will boost me along faster than my rather plodding progress I've made to date.

I welcome any comments on this from those of you who've gone from self-taught to teacher-taught at some point in time. Can a good teacher really be of great help or is it not worth the money? I'm willing to practice and follow directions.

Then, finding a teacher who is good, will work with me in the style I've chosen, and who's affordable, etc etc...I guess those are issues I'll work on once I decide to go the teacher route.

Best to all...hope you had a great Christmas!...

--Roy

G
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
G
Try this. With the lt. hand, play the
block, 4-note chords, D F A C, E G B D,
and F A C E. These start on D, E, and
F, respectively, and use every other
white key. In technical terms, these