2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
37 members (Charles Cohen, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,137 guests, and 316 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hi everyone!
I was just wondering if you consider Liszt's Liebestraum an advanced, intermediate or beginner piece?
Is it true that studying a piece beyond your technical skill is dangerous? How?
I ask this, because I'm studying Liebestraum, and I've found that the climax part of the melody (between both cadenzas) is the most dificult for me.
How do u know when a piece can be "dangerous" for you?

Thanks!

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
For me: when you sit on a piece for more than 6 months and still feel it is nothing but ready to play at performance level. It's not dangerous, but almost useless to learn - because of its difficulty it can't develop proper technique, as you still haven't got fundaments needed to go for that particular development. I have learned a lot with such pieces though...

Mateusz Papiernik
https://maticomp.net
"One man can make a difference" - Wilton Knight
Kawai CN21 (digital), Henryk Yamayuri Kawai NX-40 (grand)
OP Offline
Originally posted by Mati:
For me: when you sit on a piece for more than 6 months and still feel it is nothing but ready to play at performance level. It's not dangerous, but almost useless to learn - because of its difficulty it can't develop proper technique, as you still haven't got fundaments needed to go for that particular development. I have learned a lot with such pieces though...