2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, 12 invisible), 1,830 guests, and 277 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
J
JeanL Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Hi everyone:

I am in need of help on how to get the hand position right. It is for my son. It is very difficult to have him touch the keys with high palms, and he plays with "froggy" fingers and flat hands quite often.

Are there some exercise that works to corret these? I am frustrated. Thanks a lot!

C
C
I can relate to that. I was self taught for about two years and when I took my first piano lesson my teacher told me to curve my fingers more.
I also played with flat fingers.

This was a big adjustment for me and it was difficult to do.
What made me lift my hand and curve my fingers was playing staccato. Even if you don't like to lift up your hand and play flat you have to do it if you want to play the song descent.
So I would suggest you let him play some staccato songs.

My hand position is still not perfect but it has improved alot since I started lessons about 6 months ago.

I also find that practicing scales also helps as it is very difficult to do if you keep your hands flat.

Sorry about the mistakes...
8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
Jean, how old is your son? I started the piano as an adult, so I don't know if my experience is at all relevant, but here goes.