2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (accordeur, 36251, Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, 6 invisible), 1,307 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1056800 08/12/07 09:31 AM
Z
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
Z
I have been trawling the net for a fingering chart I can stick on the wall above my piano. I am just starting out and I want something I can glance and check - all on one page.
If I knew the correct fingerings i would write one out - but I am not sure, are there more than one "standard" fingerings for the twelve majors? I suppose that the harmonic minors are the same starting a m3 down? The melodic's similar?
Anyone have a source?

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Fingering for all of the scales is in Hanon, Part II, starting with Exercise 39:

Hanon

Mel

"Love has nothing to do with what you are expecting to get, only what you are expecting to give, which is everything. You give because you love and cannot help giving." Katharine Hepburn
D
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
D
Alfred's Complete Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios & Cadences is an excellent resource.

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
James Francis Cooke's compilation of history of scales, formation, classification, etc., with fingering of course, is one of the best, if not the best. Mastering the Scales and Arpeggios, published by Theodore Presser in Philadelphia (Bryn Mawr).

B
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
B
TA-DAH!