2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (anotherscott, Bellyman, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, btcomm, 12 invisible), 1,972 guests, and 331 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Z
zongora Offline OP
OP Offline
Z
Hi all,

I guess it’s about time for another one of my “My Photos of” series. I have previously posted them on the “Pianist’s Corner” and “Piano Forum”, but I think this time I’ll enter it on what Apple calls “The Goodest Forum”. What the heck -- I’m not a pro and I’m certainly an adult, so I feel it’s O.K. here.

One of the truly great pianists of the 20th Century and also one of my favorite was the Brazilian born Guiomar Novaes. She was born in Sao Joao Boa Vista February 28, 1895 and died also in Brazil in 1979.

I had the pleasure of not only seeing her, but speaking and photographing her at a rehearsal in the Lewissohn Stadium in New York way back on June 26, 1958. She was performing the Schumann a minor with the also famous Alexander Smallens.

I recently heard a recording of her (not the first time) of the Liszt Hungarian Rhapsody No 10. Nothing like I’ve ever heard before with her pedaling overtones. Anyone who likes this piece I recommend should listen to it.

You can read about her here. ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/rpassarj/guiomar.html

Scroll down to “Her Repertoire” and click to see the extraordinary one that she had. I found it extremely interesting as there were so many composers and pieces that I never heard of. Would be kind of fun to investigate some.