Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

What's Hot!!
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Fall 2017
Who's Online Now
142 registered members (anamnesis, Alex_, Andy001, 36251, 8opus, ando, 32 invisible), 1,469 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#1020006 - 05/06/06 09:03 AM help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Laura D Offline
Full Member
Laura D  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Pennsylvania
My husband got a laptop, and I have some hopes of being able to use it to record. But he got it for business use only, in other words no fancy sound card or anything, and I don't know how to tell where I might be able to plug in a microphone (I have your basic $10 type if that helps). There are two little 1/8" jack places beside each other--one has a little picture of headphones, and the other one has a little picture that looks like it could be a microphone. Is that what I want? I keep remembering people saying you can blow your sound card if you plug a microphone into the wrong place. Thanks for any help!

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#1020007 - 05/06/06 10:33 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,588
Euan Morrison Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Euan Morrison  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,588
Edinburgh
When I tried a laptop recording a couple on months ago, I put it into the one with the microphone on it.

I'm under the impression that this socket is quite dangerous, so it cannot be emphasised enough that you should start with volume on 0 and slowly move it up until levels are good.

#1020008 - 05/06/06 10:43 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Laura D Offline
Full Member
Laura D  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Pennsylvania
Where do I set the volume?

#1020009 - 05/06/06 11:45 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,653
Bob Muir Offline
2000 Post Club Member
Bob Muir  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,653
Lakewood, WA, USA
Quote
Where do I set the volume?
Hi Laura, Euan was talking about if you plugged your keyboard directly into the mic jack - then you'd want to have the volume of the keyboard turned all the way down to prevent blowing out the sound card.

If you're using a dynamic microphone, then you don't need to worry about that because the mic jack was designed for such a mic. You can control the record level of the microphone, either from within your recording application or from the control panel applet.

(ad ) MusicNotes.com
sheet music search
#1020010 - 05/06/06 11:57 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,231
s54mo827 Offline
1000 Post Club Member
s54mo827  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,231
New York
Quote
Originally posted by Laura D:
My husband got a laptop, and I have some hopes of being able to use it to record. But he got it for business use only, in other words no fancy sound card or anything, and I don't know how to tell where I might be able to plug in a microphone (I have your basic $10 type if that helps). There are two little 1/8" jack places beside each other--one has a little picture of headphones, and the other one has a little picture that looks like it could be a microphone. Is that what I want? I keep remembering people saying you can blow your sound card if you plug a microphone into the wrong place. Thanks for any help!
Hi Laura.
You may want to purchase Voyetra sound program. You upload the program on your laptop and following the instruction. Voyetra comes with all the necessary plugs and instructions. Then you can download Anvil Studio onto the laptop as well. It's a bit of a process. I don't know how the mic fits into the picture (I would like to find that out for myself), but you get you started at least recording, I would purchase a recording package, such as Voyetra (at Radioshack or J&R Music & Computer World). Hope that helps. Good luck.!

#1020011 - 05/06/06 03:43 PM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 184
Kam Offline
Full Member
Kam  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 184
Canada
There are 2 different types of sound card: intergrated and dedicated. The formal comes with all computers and usually weak compared to dedicated cards. The little microphone jack is a place where u plug ur mic to the onboard (integrated) sound card. The latter only comes with the computer if u pay extra $$$. Those "fancy" (dedicated) sound cards improves a lot in processing sound info and supports higher resolution in recording. You can choose which to use between integrated and dedicated if u have a dedicated card such Sound Blaster.

In your case, you are using a onboard sound card, so u just need to plug ur mic into the mic jack.

Are u seeing a S/PDIF and a microphone jack?

I can help better if u can give a picture of ur laptop with the 2 little jacks u mentioned.


"Bass creates motion" - David Lanz
#1020012 - 05/06/06 11:36 PM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Laura D Offline
Full Member
Laura D  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Pennsylvania
Quote
You may want to purchase Voyetra sound program.
How is that different from Audacity?

#1020013 - 05/09/06 01:06 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Riggi Offline
Full Member
Riggi  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Sydney
If you already have Audacity that will be fine for recording (as will a number of other free audio recording apps).

Depends what type of recording you want to do...

If it's just for your own reference to see what your playing is like it probably doesn't matter too much about the quality.

In which case the inbuilt mic socket and pre-amp might be ok.

If you want to produce decent quality recordings and put them on cd or post them on the net then you most likely would be better off getting a better soundcard than the inbuilt one.
And possibly a mic pre-amp to go with it (or a mixer with mic preamps built in).

The fact that you say you have a $10 mic suggests that the inbuilt mic socket and preamp in the laptop will be ok for your purposes.

Basically it all comes down to how much you want to spend and how much time and effort you want to put into the recording (do you want to edit it, add effects, make it sound more like a more "professional" recording).

You will be able to do basic editing in Audacity but if you want to produce a more professional sounding recording you might want to look at some other recording packages that let you apply effects etc.

If you want to spend some time and effort getting the recording to sound good you might want to check out www.audiominds.com.

Rich

#1020014 - 05/09/06 10:42 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,653
Bob Muir Offline
2000 Post Club Member
Bob Muir  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,653
Lakewood, WA, USA
For the purposes of practicing and the recital, Audacity and the $10 mic will do just fine. thumb

#1020015 - 05/09/06 11:26 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Laura D Offline
Full Member
Laura D  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Pennsylvania
Bob,
Thanks for the reassurance! That is what I am going to do. Maybe someday when my playing is more beautiful, I will get better equipment. Right now that is the least of my worries!

We did get the laptop to at least *record* this morning. Then my husband took it off to work with him so that was that. Of course, I need to be working on this prom dress for my daughter for Friday...amazing how piano takes over all my priorities and everything else gets put off!

#1020016 - 05/09/06 06:57 PM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 173
Arjen Offline
Full Member
Arjen  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 173
Groningen, Netherlands
Actually, spending a fortune on a professional soundcard and high-end audio programs is absolutely pointless unless you also invest in high quality mics and an audio-technician course. Miccing a piano is a very complex thing to do and I doubt most of us could make us of high quality equipment.

So just place the mic near the piano, make sure the volume ain't too high on the mic (you can't really damage your hardware but too high volumes can irrevirsibly ruin your recordings!) and just play.

#1020017 - 05/09/06 11:46 PM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,597
sarabande Offline
1000 Post Club Member
sarabande  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,597
Mo.
As far as recording software like the Voyetra mentioned, I got a Voyetra software kit for making recordings and it won't allow me to make cd's from the recordings without upgrading so be careful if you buy recording software, that it will allow recording onto cd. I like the software, except was dissapointed to find I can't put my recordings onto cd from it.

#1020018 - 05/10/06 03:06 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,683
FogVilleLad Offline
4000 Post Club Member
FogVilleLad  Offline
4000 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,683
San Francisco
If you're using a PC, you may already have an application such as Record Now loaded onto your computer. Record Now can be used to create music cd's. Do you have the documentation for your computer?

#1020019 - 05/10/06 05:38 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,456
rocky Offline
1000 Post Club Member
rocky  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,456
Louisville, KY
Windows Media Player has the option to "Burn" CD's


When I reach the place I'm going, I will surely know my way.
#1020020 - 05/10/06 08:08 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Laura D Offline
Full Member
Laura D  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Pennsylvania
Ok, I need more help. I can record into Audacity just fine, but the recording line (waveform) comes out almost flat, meaning it is very quiet. I have the recording volume set to max in the Mixer Toolbar. If I turn the computer speakers up full blast the recording sounds ok, but everything else would be way too loud. If I move the gain slider to the right, or use Amplify on the Effect menu, it gets louder, but there is lots of white noise.

So, is there some other setting I am missing? Or do I just need more and/or better equipment? I could probably spend $50 or so if that would help.

#1020021 - 05/10/06 08:13 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 18,183
Monica K. Offline

Platinum Supporter until Dec 31 2012
Monica K.  Offline

Platinum Supporter until Dec 31 2012


Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 18,183
Lexington, Kentucky
Hi Laura, go to your control panel on Windows, click on audio devices, click on audio devices again, and then look for the volume setting for your microphone. It turns out that you have to adjust both volume settings (your mic on control panel, and the mic setting in audacity). Try setting both at the halfway position to start, but you might have to experiment with different values until you get a good recording.


Mason & Hamlin A -- 91997
My YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/pianomonica
[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
#1020022 - 05/10/06 08:15 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 18,183
Monica K. Offline

Platinum Supporter until Dec 31 2012
Monica K.  Offline

Platinum Supporter until Dec 31 2012


Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 18,183
Lexington, Kentucky
If you download Lame (available as a link through the audacity site), you can use audacity to convert your recording to an mp3 that you can then either upload on savefile or e-mail to Bob...that saves you the trouble of putting it on a CD and physically mailing it.


Mason & Hamlin A -- 91997
My YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/pianomonica
[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
#1020023 - 05/10/06 08:37 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Laura D Offline
Full Member
Laura D  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Pennsylvania
Monica,
I had/have both places set to maximum.

Do I need some sort of preamp? Not that I understand the hardware. Also, if I do, where then do I plug into the laptop, as it has no line in, only microphone in.

#1020024 - 05/10/06 08:43 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 18,183
Monica K. Offline

Platinum Supporter until Dec 31 2012
Monica K.  Offline

Platinum Supporter until Dec 31 2012


Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 18,183
Lexington, Kentucky
Well, I'm stumped, Laura. One of the reasons I got the mic I did (a Samson USB) is that it stated explicitly that it didn't require a pre-amp, which leads me to believe that many basic microphones do. Or could it be that your $10 mic just doesn't hack it for recording music?

Good luck...


Mason & Hamlin A -- 91997
My YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/pianomonica
[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
#1020025 - 05/10/06 09:31 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,653
Bob Muir Offline
2000 Post Club Member
Bob Muir  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,653
Lakewood, WA, USA
Laura, are you sure that the microphone is turned on? There may be a switch somewhere on the mic itself to turn it on. Make sure it's on.

Other than that, it should work well. A $10 mic should not require a pre-amp. There should be the word "dynamic" on the box it came in which indicates that it generates its own electricity and doesn't need a pre-amp.

Make sure the mic is plugged into the mic jack and not the line-in jack. The mic jack usually is pink in color and it has a small pictograph of a microphone next to it while the line-in jack has a bulls-eye with an arrow pointing to the center.

You can always buy a $30 dynamic mic from Radio Shack to see if it makes a difference and if it doesn't, you can take it back for a refund.

Make sure the mic is close to the piano.

#1020026 - 05/10/06 11:00 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Laura D Offline
Full Member
Laura D  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Pennsylvania
Yes, the mic is close to the piano. And yes, it is turned on. If it is not turned on, it does not record at all. One of the first hurdles I overcame! Ok, I will try borrowing a better microphone and see if that helps. Thanks.

#1020027 - 05/10/06 06:25 PM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Riggi Offline
Full Member
Riggi  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Sydney
Another thing to check... most inbuilt soundcards have a check box in the sound card properties/mixer to add a 10 or 20dB boost to the mic signal.

Designed specifically for use with the type of basic stick microphone it sounds like you are using.

#1020028 - 05/11/06 09:22 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,290
Starting Over Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Starting Over  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,290
Toronto
Laura, I have the same problem exactly. Using my work laptop with Adobe Audition 2 and an inexpensive stick microphone I get a lot of hiss and noise with my recordings. No level adjustments in Audition or Windows seem to help.

I'm putting it down to a definciency in the microphone or the sound card.

I believe the solution is going to be more $$$.

Oh well...


Buy some good stock and hold it till it goes up, then sell it. If it don't go up, don't buy it.
Will Rogers

[Linked Image]
#1020029 - 05/11/06 12:27 PM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Laura D Offline
Full Member
Laura D  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Pennsylvania
Riggi and Bob,
Thanks! I tried a better ($40 Radio Shack) microphone, and the recording was still quiet. I found the check box to boost the mic, and that fixed it. I borrowed the microphone from my piano teacher, and while I was there, played through my sonatina program on her 7 ft Schimmel, figuring that her piano would sound better than mine, and besides I need to get in some practice time on her piano before the audition. Ugh, what a lot of mistakes! Plus I just had the microphone sitting on the piano, and it picked up lots of the mechanism noise, thunk thunk. Anyway, I will have something to submit for the recital if I look for a short bit with minimal mistakes, just in case I can't get a better recording at home tomorrow. I definitely need to get these pieces more secure. What an eye-opener!

Anyway, thanks again for all the help from everybody!

#1020030 - 05/11/06 06:45 PM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Riggi Offline
Full Member
Riggi  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Sydney
Glad to hear you have got the recording working.

I wouldn't sit the mic on the piano as it will pick up both vibrations from the piano transfered through the mic body as well as possibly some mechanical noise from the piano.

Place the mic a bit of a distance away (it really will be a case of trial and error and then remembering the position that sounds good so you can use that each time).

If you walk around the room whilst someone plays you will maybe find a spot that sounds better than others. Try there.

You don't listen to the piano with your ear pressed against it, so if you place the mic there it will probably not sound like the piano sound you are used to.

HTH,
Rich

#1020031 - 05/12/06 10:20 AM Re: help needed from you recording experts  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Laura D Offline
Full Member
Laura D  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 176
Pennsylvania
I have a camera tripod set up with the microphone dangling from a rubber band. Pretty low-tech but should minimize vibration pickup. No idea where to place it other than near the piano. My ear isn't that good, I think.

I ended up going and buying a microphone like my teacher's. I looked at them a year ago and they were $40, but Radio Shack has discontinued that moddel (had to spell it wrong to get the word allowed!) and are selling them for $15. Pretty good deal! At least better than the $10 blister pack from WalMart.


Moderated by  BB Player, casinitaly 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World)
our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, Digital Piano Dolly, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping* on Jansen Artist Piano Benches, Cocoweb Piano Lamps, Hidrau Hydraulic Piano Benches
(*free shipping within contiguous U.S. only)
(ad)
Pearl River & Ritmuller
Ritmuller Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq 6 Out now
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


New Topics - Multiple Forums
Any Moog PianoBar users here?
by Dnsmo. 12/11/17 05:47 PM
Why I love and hate the internet.
by JayWalkingBlues. 12/11/17 04:32 PM
Thought I was retired!
by synthnut. 12/11/17 04:07 PM
Which is the best software synth for AP's & EP's ?
by sonicblasphemy. 12/11/17 02:09 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics183,218
Posts2,678,434
Members89,264
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Click Here to
Explore The Rest of Piano World!!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0