2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, 11 invisible), 1,602 guests, and 336 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
C
C
Are these exercises suitable for a complete beginner?

Choppin' the keys

Piano Blog - http://girliehands.wordpress.com

Measurement of my laziness ...but I will return!
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
The Hanon book suggests starting the exercises at about a year of playing - musically, the exercises are very simple, I think its more the hand strength that complete beginners have yet to develop that is the main reason the book suggests waiting that year or so. Maybe overstrenuating early can be negative in the longer term injury wise?

I certainly don't think it would hurt an absolute beginner to start the exercises AT A SLOW PACE and start developing right hand left hand co-ordination.

L
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
L
just wait till we get to 30-40! those freak me out with the thumb under whooshes and the other things... (you can tell a 13 year old didnt want to get out of bed this early....school - and no music class this semester!!!)

Regarding starting, I'm excited to do this, but just read the post from stephenc about waiting a year. I don't want to criple my (almost) 50 year-old hands, but I've been typing for nearly 20 years on computers, and juggling even longer (though you wouldn't know to watch me).

Does anyone really think I need to wait?

Thanks, Mark