2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (APianistHasNoName, Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 10 invisible), 1,853 guests, and 274 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
I went to Scott the Piano Guy's workshop last night. I enjoyed it. He is a talented entertainer, and well worth the $25.00 fee to see him in person and listen to him speak about his own piano journey.

(I currently play written sheet music, but I am always looking for new methods of advancement.)

Back to the workshop....The audience was for the most part... "total beginners" and in fact, many reported that they could not read a single note of written music. I wondered if other PW folks had taken this workshop and if so, what your results were?

[Linked Image]

You can own a Chickering, Christifori, or Steinway, but if you can't play it.... It is just a piece of eye candy.
Ivory, I went to the workshop as well. I enjoyed it, Scott is an engaging presenter and seems like a real nice guy as well, but I learned almost nothing. This is not at all because of his teaching -- which I find quite effective -- but rather that most all of what he presented, I'm already quite familiar with. One of my big problems is not understanding what is required, it is smoothly executing what is required. Also, I would have preferred more emphasis on simple techniques for dressing up the tunes. Clearly in a program as short as this and with a diverse audience, a teacher can only do so much. In any case, on balance, I'm glad I attended.

OP Offline